Company Info





Return to Touching the Game, Cape Cod
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Highly Recommended! September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Aussie Liz from Boston, MA  
Touching the Game goes where that other Cape Cod League movie, "Summer Catch" didn't - right to the heart of this sporting tradition, giving the viewer an insightful and first hand look at the history of this talent producing league.
The doco features interviews with everyone from fans and officials to major league players (Nomar Garciaparra, Mo Vaughn and Darin Erstad, to name a few), whose careers began with the Cape Cod Summer League. It goes behind the scenes to show that a player's summer is more than an on the field experience.
The aerial shots of the Cape coastline and ball parks are amazing! You don't have to be from New England, or even love or know a lot about baseball, to appreciate this film and the story it has to tell.

Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
"A delightful DVD" September 17, 2011
Reviewer: New York Post  
" A Delightful DVD"

- The New York Post

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Touching the Game was a hit for a gift September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Megan Panek  
My husband and I loved Touching the Game! It was a hit for a gift. I bought a copy for my uncle as well. I know he will enjoy it, as we are all big baseball fans and love going to the games on the Cape. I would suggest this DVD to everyone.

- Megan Panek

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
a fine example of baseball as Americana. September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jim Luttrell of The New York Times, 7/23/04  
With its town teams, amateur players and beautiful setting, the Cape Cod League offers a fine example of baseball as Americana. "Touching the Game" offers some laughs and some tears and plenty of warm and fuzzy moments in its 1 hour 39 minutes...But the film also offers plenty of baseball for the most interested fan.

- Jim Luttrell of The New York Times, 7/23/04

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
best work ever produced representing the League.. September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Ron Conte, Ex. Dep. Comm., CCBL  
You are to be congratulated on this fine piece of art. Your depiction of what takes place every summer on our beloved Cape Cod...The CCBL, is the best work ever produced representing the League, and the extras DVD on the Cape in general is very gratifying. I encourage anyone who loves baseball to purchase this...it is truly representative of the number one NCAA sanctioned College Summer Baseball League in America. At $20 it is a real bargain and a keeper of baseball memorabilia.

- Ron Conte, Ex. Dep. Comm., CCBL

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
You don't have to like baseball to enjoy the.... September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Foster's Daily Democrat, 7/12/04  
You don't have to like baseball to enjoy the new documentary "Touching the Game", which captures the essence of the historic Cape Cod Baseball League. But if you do, it will be an extra-special treat. "Touching the Game" crisply captures the summertime atmosphere of the Cape and the role baseball plays there.... From eye-catching overhead shots of the fields and beaches to personable fan shots, the camera always seems to record the perfect Cape images, and is handled lovingly and thoughtfully.

Written in Foster's Daily Democrat, 7/12/04

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Touching the Game is awesome September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Anne Romney  
Touching the Game is awesome. We first watched it on WB over the summer and were totally absorbed in the world of these young players and the Cape Cod baseball world. The film captures the essence of these talented players as they live their dream of ultimately playing professional baseball. The devotion of the Cape Cod families and fans that support these players is tremendous. Thanks for opening this world up to baseball lovers who were unaware of this magical summer phenomenon.

- Anne Romney

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Touching the Game succeeds in..... September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Alex Kimball of The Los Angeles Times, 7/26/04  
"Touching the Game" succeeds in conveying the strong emotional connection between the players and the community and the genuine affection everyone involved has for the Cape Cod League - and baseball

- Alex Kimball of The Los Angeles Times, 7/26/04

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Touching The Game gets it right. I loved the.... September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Lee Roberts  
I grew up summers on the Cape and remember seeing guys like Will Clark and Jeff Reardon playing down there. The Cape League was pretty big back then, but has climbed to new levels today, and Touching The Game gets it right. I loved the human interest stories from the summer of 2003, and look forward to seeing if any of these players make it to the Major Leagues. And the stories from such baseball luminaries as Nomar Garciaparra, Todd Helton, Frank Thomas, Buck Showalter and Jeff Bagwell are classic!

- Lee Roberts

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Touching the Game captures the history September 17, 2011
Reviewer: Gail Wiley  
Touching the Game captures the history of the Cape Cod Baseball League exactly the way my father talked about it and I experienced it! My Dad (Curly Clement) spent many hours umpiring in the League and I remember listening to many of the stories that he had to tell. The Cape Cod Baseball League is the best!

- Gail Wiley

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items